Haggis

Suggestions for next track toy?

I've been tracking a Miata for about 6 years and am considering a change. Wife is onboard but no budget agreed yet. Would need to be driven to/from the track, so must pass ODB II inspection (:-() and AC is a must since I'm in Texas.

I've been browsing streetable race cars on rackingjunk - Corvette, BMW, Cayman. Obviously running costs will be much higher than the Miata.

What HPDE car would you suggest?

41 minutes ago, himself said:

996 GT3. Great track/street. 

-td

That's a great one! Really this depends entirely on things like: budget, usage (how much track time we talking about, and how long is your commute), and personal preference.

I love my BRZ for a daily and track car, it's sharper than a Miata and I can fit all the track stuff I need in the car with the seats folded down (full set of wheels and tires plus tools). I ran mine at 30 HPDE's in 2019, 10 autocrosses, and used it as my only car all year. I have a blast with it and have no reservations recommending it as a track car. They're faster than Miata and respectable on track, but you won't be the fastest car out there. They are a ton of fun to run though, and as long as you aren't primarily running on a giant track (like COTA) they're great. Running costs are higher than a Miata (about the same as an ND really) but not by too much, and cheaper than just about anything else. 

For a similar car but upgraded in every way, you can go with a Cayman/Boxster (they won't fit much and running costs will be higher, but it's your money not mine). 

It's hard to beat a Corvette for speed per dollar, of course tires would bankrupt me but again your money. You can choose which flavor fits your budget and speed requirements and go from there. The C5-C7 have all been out long enough that any issues are well known and parts/information should be easy to find.