Omniren

New Member - Omniren

Hello Everyone! First off, let me introduce myself, I am Patrick and a recent transplant to Houston from Chicago. I have decided to act upon one of my life goals which is to learn how to drive on the track and hopefully compete. I have recently acquired a 2003 Mazda Miata Shinsen that is going to be shipped to Houston from California. This has been tastefully modified for track with roll bars, coilovers, and frame brace. Since I am new to tracking, I will purchase the 2 session one on one instruction to learn how to drive on the track. My question is, where do I proceed from there? I don't know if I can dump a full membership on MSR Houston yet because I'm still an amateur but would love to get some track time before I decide to pull the trigger maybe in a year or two. Here are a few pictures of my car. Any feedback/input would be appreciated!

Picture3.jpg

Picture7.jpg

Picture8.jpg

Welcome! Definitely check out TDE. After you’ve done one or two of those, check out the other groups (like Chin, Apex, etc). Beautiful car!

Welcome!  the other guys have the recommendations covered. :)

Once you’ve gotten your feet wet with TDE in Houston, I’d also recommend the PCA Maverick group.  They do a lot at Cresson (the 3.1 there is awesome!), I’ve enjoyed their events.  I think TDE is doing the Cresson 3.1 twice this fall as well.

Thank you everyone for the suggestions! I will be sure to look through them. I look forward to seeing everyone on the track!

Welcome!! You are one of the many "refugees" to Texas from Chitcago!!

Welcome and have fun at MSRH, great track for your mx5

Welcome to the site.  I'm from the chicagoland area as well natively and now I'm a born again Texan.

I'm signing up for the TDE 9/14-15 event right now as we speak.  You should too we can be noobs together.

Welcome! How do you like the Texas weather :D?

Thank you everyone!!