turbogrill

NC miata in chump/wrl

Hi

What do you think about NC miatas in chump? 

They are 400pts so you could do:

40 pts gc coil overs (non adjust)

20 pts sway

25 pts header

At Harris Hill it would have to do 1.28-1.29 to be competitive. Not sure about COTA, maybe 2.45? (Fastest chump was a frsnkenstein civic doing 2.42)

This would be on RS4 or similar 200tw tire. (Dont think the re71 would last a race)

And a good driver.

You think you can get 1:28 in a NC on those tires?!  How crap am I as a driver? My fastest in my Ap1 using 255 re71 was 1:29.

1 hour ago, IanIsInGarage said:

You think you can get 1:28 in a NC on those tires?!  How crap am I as a driver? My fastest in my Ap1 using 255 re71 was 1:29.

I am asking 🙂

I am a crap driver, so I probably couldn't. At the last chumpcar race two NA Miatas  managed to get 1.27s. They might have been VVT swapped but not Ecotec swapped. But they could have been on RE71, who knows.

OMG. Well now my goals have changed. Next time I'm back out there I must get into 1:27 on street tires.

Yeah 1.29 is as good as I've done at H2R with 255 NT01R back in 2009 ish, ovearheating brakes in 2 laps to do it my hamfisted gorilla way. 260whp Mazdaspeed3 with cheap coilovers (BC racing).  Haven't had a chance to make a run at it with my Camaro. Should pretty easily beat my PB I expect.

I consider my skill level at an honest solid intermediate, my natural plateau.  Need a lot of untraining and coaching to break through that, ever.

Back then, I remember NC(? not sure, no expert with Miata generations - that was James L. I believe, same time with Exige S on 888's) with I/H/E (170ish whp) and hoosiers and some nice suspension bits in the 1.26, Acura NSX stock power with JRZ and street tires in the 1.26, Acura ITR mostly stock also in the 1.25-1.26 (I think that was Jenson?)  I remember he was running scrub tires on the ITR.