Sign in to follow this  
N546RV

Heel & toe, or maybe brake weirdness. Especially interested in input from E9X drivers.

This is going to be kind of long, but it's a nagging problem that I want to solve. The quick summary is that I'm consistently unable to heel-toe in my car on-track, and I'm unsure if it's something inherent about the car, or a problem with me, or if something is up with my brakes.

Background: I've been DDing manual cars for about two decades now. I taught myself a street version of heel-toe some time ago, and it's served me well over the years. The technique I learned is what I've more commonly seen called "toe-toe." Basically, I put the ball of my foot on the brake pedal, and the outstep (not sure if that's the right term but oh well) of my foot overlaps the edge of the throttle. Under street-driving braking, in every car I've driven, this puts my foot in a great position to pivot around the ball a bit and blip the throttle for downshifts.

After a few track events, as I started to actually really use the brakes, this technique became problematic. Going deeper on the brakes meant that having my outstep overlap the throttle was problematic; there were more than a few occasions when I'd inadvertently add throttle while braking heavily. At that time I tried modifying the technique by trying to keep my outstep higher (ie pulling my knee to the left), but it was never high enough to eliminate the problem.

So I ended up developing a new technique for the track. Whereas normally I have my heel on or close to the floor, the "new way" was to put my foot higher on the brake pedal - say, with the top edge of the pedal kind of at the bottom of the ball of my foot. If I did this, and sort of pointed my foot out as I was braking, I could pivot it around the ball and catch the gas with my outstep. I never got super comfortable with it, but felt I was at least somewhat confident with it.