atadams

Don’t lift at Turn 3 (crash)

I made a rookie mistake (i.e., I’m a rookie and I made a mistake) and lifted/coasted trying to take Turn 3 at COTA and spun off into the barrier. I didn’t correct quickly enough or near the right amount

No injuries and it appears to be only cosmetic damage. 

Thanks to PCA, COTA, and the safety crews for being so professional. 

Edited by atadams

Great video.  Really sucks about that crash, but glad you're ok and hope the damage is easily repaired.

Did COTA bill you for barrier repair?

now at least you can repair it and have no qualms about turning it into a race car.  

I'm not about to armchair quarterback on that tho. 

What was the process like?  they come out with a clip board and give you a bill before you got the car on the truck?

Sorry to see this, thus is why i tell people to turn in from mid track there it makes that initial input less. Did you by chance track out further at 2 then you had in previous laps?

23 minutes ago, kfennell said:

Sorry to see this, thus is why i tell people to turn in from mid track there it makes that initial input less. Did you by chance track out further at 2 then you had in previous laps?

I was turning in from mid track in earlier sessions but was trying some different lines this session and did go wider than usual at two. What tipped you off?

I'm familiar with the COTA damage policy, but that barrier has been hit before, many times, and appears to be designed with some resiliency (as in it has been returned to its' normal flat surface after previous hits). I'd hope any associated charges would be minimal, if any, unless you perforated it. I would also like to know how it was handled, as I'll be driving the track (again) this weekend...