N546RV

Timers/data acquisition - Harry's vs AiM Solo/etc

OK, so I've been driving for about three years now, and using Harry's for most of that time. So far, my use has been limited to reviewing lap times after a session (as opposed to watching it while I'm out on track) and using the data dumps to make run videos with overlays. It's worked decently for this, but I've run into some issues over time:

• Accelerometer calibration can be problematic, and on more than one occasion I've come home with garbage data (only really a problem for the videos though)
  • Update rate is not great for GPS (1Hz using internal phone GPS)
  • No success whatsoever with integrating ODBII data - I've tried a couple different adapters and done lots of troubleshooting, but the data rate is always horrible to the point of being unusable

I'd specifically like to improve overall data rate and specifically start getting good OBDII data - I really want to be able to see throttle inputs and such, both to make nice-looking videos and to analyze for personal improvement.

The most obvious option, I think, is to get something like an AiM Solo DL. I'm not especially familiar with all the options, but I gather that the Solo is the budget option at $700. That's expensive enough to not be an impulse purchase, and to be honest I'd want to either try one myself or at least get lots of other people's experiences before pulling the trigger.

Another option would be to keep using HLT but with some better peripherals. I see a couple options for a standalone GPS receiver that will get 10Hz, which would be a marked improvement. The big question would be whether I could resolve the OBDII data rate issue; I'm not sure exactly where the problem is, if it's the adapters I used, or what the car natively sends, or it's an HLT thing, etc. So I'm slightly hesitant to go buy yet another adapter in the hopes that it'll be the magic bullet.