MoonieGT

Looking for suggestions: DD w/ back seat that can do 1-2 track events a year

Looking for suggestions for a car that I could track 1-2 times a year (just to scratch that itch).  I need a car with a back seat as I have two kiddos (ages 7 and 9).  The kids are basically never in my car, but I have to be able to put them in there if needed.  Previously I had a miata as a second car for the track (sold it a few years back).  Loved that car, but I don't like having two cars.  It takes up space I don't really have.

At the moment, I'm heavily considering a 2017+ BRZ with the performance pack that adds brembos.  I know the back seat is tiny, but it checks the box of being able to put the kids in my car if I had to.  What else should I consider that has a back seat, should have relatively low running costs, and can survive 1-2 track days a year without much fuss?  I'm a competent driver, but not the fastest for sure (I was yellow solo through the driver's edge). 

My thoughts:

I don't want an STI (had a 2015 and just didn't love it as a DD, pretty much a dog around town but would be fun at the track). 

An ecoboost mustang with track pack could be fun, but I don't have much faith in: Ford in general; turbo track cars in Texas... 

Type R?  The styling is obnoxious but I'm ok with that... can the cooling system survive Texas track days?

Thanks for any suggestions

This is a question I've looked into a lot as a father of 2 eight-year-olds. Here's a few thoughts from my own journey:

• The BRZ/FRS twins' back seat is VERY small for children this age, and you're not far from growth-spurt time, which will make it worse. If it's really rare that they ride with you, you can probably get away with it till they're teens. But as my kids ride in my car at least weekly, that just wasn't an option.